Tuesday, August 10, 2010

I did it.

I run pretty much all of my 'longer' runs in the evening. Anything over 3miles, I reserve for after 7pm. We've been having an east coast heat wave all summer (I'm NOT complaining) so the middle of the day has been brutal, and I am not a morning girl, I'm just not.

Yesterday, I had to do my 5.5 in the mid-day heat, around 12:30 to be exact. It was hot and very muggy. The temperature read 87 but it felt far more brutal than that.

I wanted to quit, several times. I thought about stopping, or sitting down, a lot.

I was dripping in sweat and felt all gritty and light-headed.


But, I did it.

I thought, if I wasn't struggling and didn't think about quitting, then it would be easy. The fact that I wanted so badly to stop, but didn't, well that's overcoming and that is what this journey is all about; removing myself from my comfort zone and finding myself successful, above all.

I don't carry a hydration belt (I might in my future). So I just dump unopened water bottles off along my route, pick them up, drink them, toss them, and move on. Of course I pick them back up after my run is over, I don't liter silly!

My first (and only) water wasn't until around mile 4. That was a mistake on my part. Given the humidity, I should have put at least two, starting at mile 2.

The run took me an hour and four minutes (11:28pace). Did I ever mention that I'm okay with being slow? I am. I figure, running is not my life. There is always going to be someone (or in my case a LOT of someones) faster. But, there's also always someone slower. I'm a middle of the road kind of girl, and that's alright with me. If I'm able to run the whole half, I'll be thrilled. Pace, not as much of a concern.


Schedule for the remainder of the week:

Today: (Wakeskated in the AM), Yoga, Upper Body at the Gym
Wed: wakeskate, 3mile run
Thursday: Yoga, bike ride, legs at the gym
Friday: Speedwork at the track; 3.5miles
Saturday: Yoga
Sunday: 6mile long run



Keep pushing through.

Monday, August 9, 2010

I like to read daily devotionals online. Today, this was the verse of the day:

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.

Joshua 1:9 (New King James Version)

I was feeling a bit bogged down and discouraged because I'm doing my long run today (Monday) instead of Sunday this week. That really reminded me that He will carry me through.

I can tackle this.

I will be successful.


Off to run 5.5miles.


Hope the week finds you well, lovelies.




Friday, August 6, 2010

A Friday Free for All for Me


Note: I am not a regular blogger/updater. I just don't have the time and patience to be as dedicated to blogs as some people. I really admire women who are able to devote a great deal of time and energy to this online community. I just don't have it in me at this point in the game, so I'll be around to update when I see fit.

Today was a free for all. I got up earlier than I would have liked and it took me a while to get in the swing of things. I made Goose an amazing veggie and ground turkey omelet this morning though.

I did some serious Yoga and my legs were burning from it. Probably because yesterday was a heavy leg day in the gym
[Squats: 3x8, 70lbs Walking Lunges: 3x15, 25lb dbs
Split Leg Good Mornings: 3x8, 55lbs Kickbacks: 2x10eachleg, 20lb db]

Needless to say, it didn't take much for my legs to burn.

Here comes the fail part and the serious free for all: I didn't do my speedwork today. I just didn't make it out there. My LAME excuses are as follows; it was raining, my legs were hella sore, I did other things.

The point is, I didn't get to it. I'm not super stressed about it and I'm not beating myself up. However, I am thinking about how to avoid this in the future.

So, my new and very scary plan of attack...maybe, possibly....



I'm going to attempt morning runs.



Now, by morning we're talking 9 or 10. Lets face it, I am NOT a morning person. I work from 3-7, my grad school classes are at night. I just, get up later and stay up later than the average jane. But, I'm also very busy and my day quickly gets away from me.

Sunday will be our first morning run. My sites are all dialed in on my 5.5route beginning at 9am. Please wish me luck and keep your fingers crossed. I might love it, who knows?!

We have a saying in the Goose household though; "You don't know unless you go"

Thursday, August 5, 2010

Make the Most of What you Have

I didn't sleep well last night. Both of my dogs were restless and wanted to go out constantly. I cherish my sleep. When I got up today, coming off of half hour sleep intervals, I was cranky to say the least. I was ready to throw in the towel and put on my 'Grumpy the Dwarf' shirt.

But, each day is a new opportunity. Every single day we are blessed with the chance to start anew. Not everyone is granted that chance...

So, I am, at this moment, swallowing my self-pity and declaring this day beautiful (aside from the grey skies outside and the rain pouring down).

Therefore, an itinerary:

Present: Breakfast, oatmeal with fruit and OJ
10:15: Yoga it out
10:45: Get Ready
11:30: Meet owner of new Spin Studio, considering signing up for classes

....Up in the air

3:00: Leg Workout in the Gym
4:00: Work
..........................................................................

Last night we went to a free Kansas show.


It was fun and I love being outdoors, amongst friends.

Lots of good things coming up...




I hope that you recognize how glorious today is.

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Fact:

Rest is important, all the way around.

...for my body tells me so.


First, quick recap. My five mile run on Sunday went great. I paced 11/mile but finished strong, didn't feel weak, etc. I'm going to run 5 again on Sunday.


Okay, back to my much needed R&R.

I've been running 3xweek.
Cross training with biking or swimming at least 2xweek.
Doing yoga 3-4xweek.Getting up at the buttcrack of dawn to ride wakeskate 4-5xweek.
Lifting weights 2-3xweek.
Walking the dogs twice a day, every day.

I'm burnt and I'm not getting enough sleep. I need to rest up, prioritize, and remember that right now my main goal is the half. Some things (ie lifting sessions) will take a back seat and that is okay. I need to remember, I am NOT super woman and I can NOT do it all. If I want to be successful, I need to give the half my energy, my focus, and my mind.


I'm young, so I'm scrapping by but I'm starting to feel exhausted and things are only going to pick up once my schedule gets crazy this month. (I'm in two weddings, planning the bachelorette parties for both and school starts the 28th).


Moderation.

Rest&Recovery.

Listen to your mind and your body.




I went for a 35min recovery jog today. I was thirsty (duly noted!).

Now, kids...


This baby is going to sleep.

Saturday, July 31, 2010

Slow Ride, Take it Easy...

My actual training plan doesn't begin until August 17th, but I'm trying to maintain somewhat of a base mileage now. You know, giving it the old college try. A typical week looks something like this:

Monday: Yoga, Upper body in the gym
Tuesday: 3mile easy run, legs in the gym
Wednesday: Yoga, Bike or Swim
Thursday: Yoga, Legs in the gym, 25min arc trainer
Friday: 3mile hill run
Saturday: OFF
Sunday: "Long" run of 4 or 5 miles right now

Honorable Mention: Each run is followed by at least 15min of stretching.

Lessons thus far:

*Less is sometimes more. Life will happen and that's okay. If you miss a run, have to reschedule, etc. do not panic. Don't over do your activity and remember the value in rest days.
*Running one-way is better for me. I've done both, and okay, most of my runs were out and back. But, I've learned that my energy level stays up if I get on a one-way train.
*The lake is essential. Thus far, that big, cooling plunge into the lake has really been helping to alleviate cramping, tight muscles, etc. and I am far less sore the other day. Make it a point to continue this!!

Did I mention in my last post that I'm looking at scoring a couple of pairs of new sneaks? I'm a high-arched, neutral-to-under pronator. So, (I still have to go try them on) but I'm thinking I'm going to get the Muzino Wave Rider 13 for days when I'm moving quicker, feeling strong. I'd like to alternate those with the Asics Gel-Nimbus 12 for a super soft, plush ride. I'm sure that they will make all the difference.. wink wink.

Mentally, I'm doing good with the distances thus far. I think "Hey, I just ran five miles! That's just a bit under half way!" But, at the same time, I try to take the advice of other runners and seriously respect the distance. 13.1miles is no joke, especially for a novice runner such as myself. I have a couple of helpful 'mantras' that get me through.

"Let the mind dictate the body."
"I can do all things through Christ which strengthens me."
"One step at a time."
"It's just you and the pavement, baby."


Tomorrow is supposed to be a rainy day. Wish me luck on my five mile run!

Sunday, July 18, 2010

Mid July

Hi out there.
I don't start my actual training plan for my half until the middle of August. But I have been sneaky... and I have been active.

I've been doing 3-4 runs a week, trying to stay conditioned and build up a decent base mileage before jumping in feet first. I'm following the schedule (1 long run, shorter runs during the week, some interval, some tempo, etc.).

Tonight was my 'long' run of just over 4 miles. It felt great. My favorite running quote has always been "You never feel worse AFTER a run!" Boy is that the truth. I come home with an extra shot of vigor, ready to tackle new chores, bouncing up and down.

It's been hot for our area, high 80s, mid 90s. When I'm done with my run, I walk outback, I don't even come inside the house, I kick off my shoes, toss my ipod on the bench, and splash...

It does wonders. It helps soothe my muscles, cool me off, stretch me out. It is the perfect conclusion to a nice long run and I am truly blessed.

After a bit of paddling about I make sure to take my 15 minutes to stretch. I've been trying to make sure that I include:

Calf stretches
Butterfly (groin) stretch
Straight Leg stretch (hits all the way down the backs of your legs)
Lower Back
Hammies/Quads
Ankle rolls
Shoulders

Here's a great resource for a super in depth explanation on stretching and some must do stretches for every runner.

http://www.runtheplanet.com/trainingracing/stretching/

Since I'm in the early stages of my running, I've been admiring lots of fun toys. Specifically a new pace watch, a spibelt, and possibly a road IDtag.

Splibelt is one of the sponsors of the HM in St. Pete, and for good reason. http://store.spibelt.com/default.asp

It is exciting to be looking at all of these new gadgets, educating myself, and feeling strong and accomplished.

Tomorrow, my legs will rest. Ahhh.

It is off to the gym for stretching & upperbody work.


When I think about the task that is before me, I try to remember:
“If God sends us on strong paths, we are provided strong shoes.” --Corrie TenBoom